

MINUTES Commonwealth Education Continuum

Type:Regular MeetingDate:September 21, 2022Time:9:00 a.m. ETLocation:Council on Postsecondary Education
100 Airport Road Frankfort, KY 40601

CALL TO ORDER

The Commonwealth Education Continuum (CEC) held a regular meeting on September 21, 2022 at 9 a.m. ET at the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Offices located at 100 Airport Road, Frankfort, KY.

ATTENDANCE

The following members were present: Lt. Governor Jacqueline Coleman, CPE President Aaron Thompson, Education Commissioner Jason Glass, Eddie Campbell, Jim Flynn, Rep. James Tipton, Corinne Murphy, Diana Barber, Kathleen Christian, Jenny Sawyer, Charleigh Browning, Robert Hayes, OJ Oleka, Dallas Kratzer, Lu Young, Amy Neal, Justin Mitchell, and John Gregory.

The following members were not present: Sarah Akin, Paul Czarapata, Luke Mentzer, Rhonda Caldwell, Sen. Max Wise, Kerri Schelling, Sen. David Givens, Robert Jackson, and Ashli Watts.

WELCOME AND PURPOSE

CPE Senior Fellow Robin Herbert began the meeting by extending a welcome to members and guests and gave instructions to silence cell phones and other devices and provided other meeting norms. CPE President Aaron Thompson provided a welcome and thanked everyone for being involved and for staying active with the Continuum. Lt. Governor Jacqueline Coleman provided a review of the meeting objectives and introduced Ms. Charleigh Browning as the new student representative on the Continuum.



President Aaron Thompson thanked members of the Continuum for their time and commitment to improving the education pipeline for all students in Kentucky and reminded members of the purpose of the Continuum and the important role each member contributes to the success of the work.

Dr. Amanda Ellis briefly reviewed the meeting norms and thanked members for their continued commitment to serve on the Continuum. Dr. Ellis shared the meeting agenda, discussed the meeting topics, and introduced the guest meeting presenters.

EXPLORATION OF PRIORITY TOPICS

Alex Perry, CEC Early Postsecondary Opportunities Workgroup Co-Lead Harmony Little, 9th Grade on Track Co Lead Jan Sellers, Dr. Amanda Ellis and First Year Success Workgroup Co-Leads Dr. Lilly Massa-McKinley and Robert Hayes provided a presentation to highlight the work that is happening in each workgroup. Members brainstormed and discussed potential actions steps that align to state levers that will increase students' access, quality, and success in early post-secondary opportunities, ensure that more students are on track for success in 9th grade, and increase students' success in first year transitions and gateway coursework. The Dual Credit Policy Revisions and Goal Development that are in progress were explained and each workgroup's priorities were presented and discussed. Each member was asked for their top recommendations from each workgroup and were reminded about state levers when considering their top priorities.

CEC NEXT STEPS

Dr. Amanda Ellis introduced the next steps and the goal of focusing on accomplishing what is valued most to the group. Dr. Ellis reminded the group of the next meeting that is to occur on December 14 at 1:00 p.m. ET and to contact her or Robin Hebert with any questions or ideas.

WRAP-UP

Dr. Jason Glass provided closing remarks and thanked the members for engaging in the work and guiding the next steps towards change. Dr. Glass asked members to contact him with any additional feedback and reminded the group that a follow-up email would be sent concerning next steps. Dr. Glass welcomed Charlie Browning to the group and again thanked each member and guest for attending the meeting and for their commitment to Kentucky's students.

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m. ET